Kind, thoughtful words from Steve Buttry, whose critiques helped make a difference in Freedom newsrooms.

The Buttry Diary

With all the upheaval going on in the newspaper business, the sale of Freedom Communications piece by piece is getting relatively little notice. Warren Buffett wasn’t the buyer and staff cuts were not as dramatic as those going on at Advance Communications.

But I noticed.

In my three years at the American Press Institute, Freedom was by far my leading client. I led regional seminars for newsroom staff members in Destin, Fla.; McAllen, Texas, and New Bern, N.C. I spoke at editors’ conferences in Dallas, Tempe, Ariz., (publishers joined that conference) and San Antonio. I spoke at a National Writers’ Workshop in Fullerton, Calif., hosted by the Orange County Register.

View original post 615 more words

About Len La Barth

I am a longtime journalist still in love with this heartbreaking business.
This entry was posted in Newspapers. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to

  1. Steve Buttry says:

    Thanks for passing along, Len! I certainly enjoyed my interactions with you and your colleagues. I’m sorry my Freedom travels never brought me to Marysville.

Leave a Reply

